The North Carolina Appraisal Board welcomes you to its Web site.
The mission of the North Carolina Appraisal Board is to protect consumers of real estate services provided by its licensees by assuring that these licensees are sufficiently trained and tested to assure competency and independent judgment. In addition, the Board will protect the public interest by enforcing state law and Appraisal Board rules to assure that its licensees act in accordance with professional standards and ethics.
Appraisers - Late Renewals
Renewals are due each year by June 30th. If you failed to renew by June 30th, your license is lapsed, and you may no longer perform any appraisal work. It is a violation of state law to perform work as an appraiser when not licensed to do so. For twelve months after a license lapses, a licensee may reinstate their license (once all the CE has been completed and reported by the sponsor) by paying the renewal fee, the National Registry fee (if desired) and a late fee of $10.00 per month. From 12 months - 5 years after the license lapses, the licensee must complete a new application, new criminal background check, the original application fee, and have completed all required CE. Reinstatement is not retroactive.
The North Carolina Appraisal Board believes that the appraisal profession should reflect the diversity of our State.
To further this mission, the Board is dedicated to expanding diversity and inclusivity in the profession by removing barriers that limit the opportunities of any qualified individual to become an appraiser.